Get to Know Housing Staff: Tanya Ley

Casual portrait of Tanya LeyWhat is your name and how long have you been in your current position?

My name is Tanya Ley and I have been in my current position since August 2020.

What is your current role in University Housing?

I work in the Facilities Office at University Apartments.

How long have you been with University Housing? Other positions on campus?

I’ve been with University Housing since December 2019. I started out as a Dishwasher at Gordon Avenue Market.

What do you do on a typical day in your job?

I open the UA Facilities office and process all the maintenance requests that residents put in the previous night. I then help support our residents with their maintenance questions/issues and assist the UA supervisors with their projects.

What’s your favorite thing about working with students who are living on campus?

I mostly interact with students when I work extra shifts with Dining. I love learning about their hobbies, goals, and dreams, and encouraging the students to pursue them.

What is a past work accomplishment that you’re proud of?

This past year, nearly 500 new residents moved into University Apartments between June to August. I’m glad I could help make the process run smoothly for both our residents and my co-workers.

What is a secret talent that your co-workers may not know about?

One of my life goals is to visit all 7 continents. A lot of my coworkers already know this, but I just got back from a trip to Antarctica. The only continent I have left to visit is Australia.

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in southwest Wisconsin.

Where is your favorite place in the world?

Anywhere I’m thru-hiking a trail. My next adventure will probably be thru-hiking the Pacific Crest Trail (from Mexico to Canada) or thru-hiking the Te Araroa Trail in New Zealand.

What are you passionate about?

Thru-hiking long distance trails around the US and the world. I also love to read, camp, and explore outside.

What is your favorite TV show, movie, or book?

I don’t watch a lot of movies or TV. I usually read 50 books in a year. I don’t have a favorite book, but my favorite author is Anne McCaffrey, specifically her Dragon series books.

What is your favorite family/home tradition?

Eating Mom’s perogies during every major holiday (like Christmas/Easter/etc).

If you would like to see one of your coworkers featured in a future issue, email with your coworker’s name and their supervisor’s name.